The Needle Drop

Beach House Launches "Single Finder" and "Setlist Creator"

TNDComment

Baltimore dream pop duo Beach House is releasing its fifth album, Depression Cherry, August 28 on Sub Pop. Last night, the band launched two new features on its website: a single finder and a setlist creator.

Of the former, Beach House explains: "For us, it’s always a strange moment when a single has to be chosen. No one song ever feels like a perfect representative for a record. This device allows you all to choose the 3 songs you have enjoyed most in the past and have a 'single' chosen for you based loosely on what we consider to be musical similarities." There seems to be three results - the newly released "Beyond Love" and "PPP," or lead single "Sparks" (which you can hear again above).

They say of the setlist creator: "While on tour, we change our setlist every night and certain songs get played only a few times per tour. This device will allow us to know if there is a large number of people wanting to hear a certain song in any one place. It’s not that we will definitely follow it, but it will certainly influence our set lists…... maybe 50 people in Milwaukee want to hear a song we made 10 years ago?!?! Choose the 'setlist creator' next to the show you are going to and follow the directions there." So you probably ought to check this out if you plan on seeing the duo on its upcoming tour.

Good stuff. Enjoy!

of Montreal Shares Stop-Motion "Last Rites at the Jane Hotel" Video, Announces US Fall Tour

TNDComment

Stop-motion animator Matthew Cooper has directed an awesome video for Aureate Gloom highlight "Last Rites at the Jane Hotel," which you can find above. This comes on the heels of of Montreal's US fall tour announcement; here are the dates:

08/21 - Greensboro, NC @ The Blind Tiger *
08/22 - Frederick, MD @ Flying Dog Brewery *
08/23 - Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes *
08/24 - Norfolk, VA @ Work Release *
08/25 - Raleigh, NC @ Lincoln Theatre *
09/02 - Oxford, MS @ The Lyric ^
09/03 - Shreveport, LA @ Bears on Fairfield ^
09/04 - Houston, TX @ Walter's Downtown ^
09/05 - Utopia, TX @ UTOPIAfest
09/06 - Ft. Worth, TX @ Shipping and Receiving ^
09/07 - Little Rock, AR @ Revolution Music Room ^
09/08 - Columbia, MO @ The Blue Note ^
09/09 - Champaign, IL @ The Highdive ^
09/10 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall ^
09/11 - Grand Rapids, MI @ Pyramid Scheme ^
09/12 - Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre ^
09/13 - Columbus, OH @ Park Street Saloon ^
09/14 - Buffalo, NY @ Asbury Hall at Babeville ^
09/15 - Ithaca, NY @ The Haunt ^
09/16 - Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall ^
09/17 - Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre ^
09/18 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg ^
09/19 - Charlottesville, VA @ The Jefferson Theatre ^
09/20 - Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle ^
10/21 - Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge #
10/22 - Indianapolis, IN @ Deluxe - Old National Centre #
10/23 - Kalamazoo, MI @ Bell's Eccentric Cafe #
10/24 - Des Moines, IA @ Woolies #
10/25 - Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre #
10/26 - Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room #
10/27 - Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar #
10/28 - Denver, CO @ The Bluebird #
10/29 - Billings, MT @ Pub Station #
10/30 - Missoula, MT @ Stage 112 #
10/31 - Seattle, WA @ Neptune #
11/01 - Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom #
11/02 - San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall #
11/03 - Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst #
11/04 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent #
11/05 - San Diego, CA @ Irenic #
11/06 - Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent #
11/07 - Tucson, AZ @ Night of the Living Fest @ La Cocina
11/08 - El Paso, TX @ Tricky Falls #
11/09 - San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger #
11/10 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk #
11/11 - New Orleans, LA @ The Howlin' Wolf #

* w/ Mothers
^ w/ Surface to Air Missive
# w/ Diane Coffee

Aureate Gloom is out now on Polyvinyl.

Parquet Courts Signs to Rough Trade, Announces 'Monastic Living' EP & Tour Dates

TNDComment

Parquet Courts has found a new worldwide home on Rough Trade Records. The band has also announced a slew of fall US and European tour dates, on sale now, and that on November 13th, it will make its debut on the label with the "Monastic Living" EP (pictured up there). Find the tour dates and Anthony's review of the group's previous LP Sunbathing Animal below:

Tour Dates:
Thu. Aug. 27 - London, UK @ Birthdays
Fri. Aug. 28 - Reading, UK @ Reading Festival
Sat. Aug. 29 - Leeds, UK @ Leeds Festival
Sun. Aug 30 - Paris, France @ Rock En Seine
Wed. Sept. 2 - Galway, Ireland @ Roisin Dubh
Thu. Sept. 3 - Limerick, Ireland @ Dolan’s
Fri. Sept. 4 - Belfast, Ireland @ Limelight 2
Tue. Sept. 8 - Stockholm, Sweden @ Debaser Strand
Wed. Sept. 9 - Oslo, Norway @ Blaa
Thu. Sept. 10 - Copenhagen, Denmark @ Pumpehuset
Sat. Sept. 12 - Berlin, Germany @ Lollapalloza Berlin
Mon. Sept. 14 - Vienna, Austria @ Chelsea
Tue. Sept. 15 - Zagreb, Croatia @ Culture Factory
Wed. Sept. 16 - Ravenna, Italy @ Bronson
Thu. Sept. 17 - Rome, Italy @ Monk
Sat. Sept. 19 - Athens, Greece @ AN Club
Thu. Nov. 5 - Denton, TX @ Rubber Gloves
Fri. Nov. 6 - Sat. Nov. 7 - Austin, TX @ FFF
Mon. Nov. 9 - New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
Tue. Nov. 10 - Memphis, TN @ Hi Tone
Wed. Nov. 11 - Lawrence, KS @ The Bottleneck
Fri. Nov. 13 - Denver, CO @ Marquis
Thu. Dec. 3 - Northampton, MA @ Flywheel w/ Pill
Fri. Dec. 4 - Boston, MA @ Middle East w/ Pill
Sat. Dec. 5 - Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace w/ Pill
Sun. Dec. 6 - Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground w/ Pill
Mon. Dec. 7 - Quebec City, QC @ Le Cercle w/ Pill
Tue. Dec. 8 - Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rossa w/ Pill
Wed. Dec. 9 - Toronto, ON @ Lee’s w/ Pill
Fri. Dec. 11 - Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw w/ Pill